There will be a level 1 & 2 course running out of Dundee on 22nd & 23rd July this summer.

The cut-off date for the courses is 31st May.

There is the potential to run another level 1 on the west side of the country this summer but is dependent on there being enough people attending both.

Application forms can be downloaded from the SIH website and emailed to me and payment must be made to the SIH account by BACS with a note of what is being in and why.

There will also be a refresher course before the start of next season for coaches to keep their qualifications.  Details of this and who must refresh will be sent out soon.

The 2017 IIHF International Coaching Symposium is organized by the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), the German Ice Hockey Association (DEB) and the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship Organizing Committee.

Well-known international experts will speak in this symposium and provide you with information on current issues concerning long-term player development, leadership and off-ice training. This will cover most different areas of coaching studies and will create an interesting event.

The Symposium will be held in English with simultaneous translation (German).

Date: 13 – 14 May 2017

Deadline for Registration: 31 March 201Click Here for more information

Scotland have named their squads for Conference Weekend, being held in Sheffield in May.

The four-day event, which is held at Ice Sheffield, takes place from Friday 26th to Monday 29th May 2017.

Conference Weekend starts with the England v Scotland Under-19 international on the Friday.

The Conference games start at 7am on the Saturday 27th May, with 44 games running until the evening of Monday 29th May.

SIH chairman, David Hand, said: “Conference Weekend is a fantastic tournament and a special time of the year.

“The players who have been selected I am sure are very honoured to be part of the weekend.

“Congratulations to all those who have been selected for their respective squads.

“It will be a great weekend of ice hockey and it has been a special tradition in the ice hockey calendar for a number of years.”

You can keep up with the latest news via the dedicated Twitter account for the weekend – @EIHAConference is the address and #conference17 is the hashtag for the whole weekend.

Dominic Jaglar
Brook Jansen
Oliver Fraser
Brodie Kay
Ellie Patrick
Josh Saunders
Kian Shevlin
Cameron Wilkie
Jack Adams
Torran Anderson
Kyle Carruth
Ross Henderson
Joe Lynch
Rowan Mills
Toby Mitchell
Tymoteusz Szewczyk
Harvey Wooldridge

Liam Griffin
Ben Keddie
Kell Beattie
Jamie Edmonds
Ali McLeod
Lachlan McMillan
Sonny Simpson
Andrew Thomson
Ben Brown
Luca De Simone
Cameron Hamill
Carter Hamill
Gary Kelly
Connor McNulty
Rio Page
Stephen Scott
Mack Stewart

Gregor McLean
Dale Shearer
Lennon Donaldson
Josh Hamilton
Kaitlyn Morrison
Lee Murison
Ethan Reid
Liam Stenton
Ewan Anderson
Jamie Crawford
Jake Grubb
Finley King
Jonny McBean
Mark Solerod
James Spence
Harvey Topen
Lewis Young

Euan Simpson
Andrew Wright
Reece Cochrane
Ben Coughtrie
Josh Hodgkinson
Ross MacKinnon
Owen Michie
Drew Rumgay
Keir Anderson
Keiran Hair
Lewis Houston
Scott Jamieson
Angus MacLean
George Pitcaithley
Zander Plews
Calum Robertson
Garry Simpson
TJ Wright

ZURICH – The International Ice Hockey Federation’s Historical Committee has announced the 20th induction class to the IIHF Hall of Fame.

Former players Saku Koivu, Uwe Krupp, Angela Ruggiero, Joe Sakic and Teemu Selanne, along with builder Dieter Kalt will be inducted into the IIHF Hall of Fame in 2017.

Former Great Britain national team player and coach Tony Hand has been selected to receive the Richard “Bibi” Torriani Award.

French ice hockey executive and former player and coach Patrick Francheterre will receive the Paul Loicq Award.

The 2017 IIHF Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place in Cologne, Germany on 21 May, the final day of the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship.

Click here for full bios of the IIHF Hall of Fame class of 2017

Click herefor a complete list of all the IIHF Hall of Fame’s honoured members.

Scottish Ice Hockey is currently recruiting for coaches at National level for the 2016/17 season.

Successful candidates will be expected to select and develop the country’s best players both on and off the ice teaching skill development, hockey sense and hockey systems while also promoting sports nutrition, classroom sessions and off ice training.

Candidates shall also be expected to work alongside the National Program Coaching Co-ordinator & Head Coach.

The term length is 2 years.

Those interested must hold a valid level 2 coaching qualification, have experience in coaching at junior or senior level and have previously worked with children outside the ice hockey environment (experience in this is preferred but not essential) and be PVG checked.

Please apply by sending a cover letter along with a brief CV of information relevant to the post to &


The SIH-UK National Development Program is currently looking for team managers for the coming season. This is a fantastic opportunity for an organised, enthusiast person to be involved with the best young ice hockey players in Scotland. The successful applicant will be responsible for providing management and administration for all ‘off-ice’ activities as the first point of contact for players and parents including collecting ice fees. He/she should be a confident, approachable, networker with good organising skills and a commitment to excellence. He/she should be adept at problem solving and conflict resolution, will have the ability to remain calm under pressure and will always demonstrate tact and diplomacy.  As well as an excellent understanding and commitment to welfare and safeguarding of children he/she will need to be a good listener with the ability to proactively create a safe and positive environment in which young athletes can excel.

Applications close on Monday  04/07/2016

Please email with your application.

Both courses will run simultaneously and start at 9am each day. The on-ice session will be on the Saturday afternoon at 4.30. Attendees should kit up appropriately for running a practice.

After applying attendees will receive a link to gain access to the IIHF Manuals to help them complete a theory paper which must be completed and submitted to the SIH CP before July 26th.
A practical exam will be held on the following weekend.

Level 1 and Level 2 Courses now both cost £150. Applications for both courses should be received by the July 22 and payment should be made by bank transfer to Bank Code 82-62-30, Account Number 50457878. No cash or cheque payments will be accepted.

Download application form