Dundee Tigers withdraw from the Scottish National League

Scottish Ice Hockey is sorry to announce that Dundee Tigers will not be taking their place in the SNL for the 2018/19 season.

The club has confirmed that it is unable to commit to playing in the league, leaving an eight-team line-up for the upcoming campaign.

Dundee Comets, Paisley Pirates, Kirkcaldy Kestrels, Aberdeen Lynx, North Ayrshire Wild, Kilmarnock Thunder, Solway Stingrays and Murrayfield Racers will take part in the SNL next term.

SIH chairman David Hand said: “It’s obviously disappointing to lose Dundee Tigers from the SNL, especially with the new season just around the corner.

“However, we thank the club for communicating their intentions at this point as it allows us to put contigency plans in place to ensure that there is no impact on the number of fixtures the remaining clubs will play.

“We are currently working on the schedule for next season and we hope to be able to confirm the full details later this week.”

(Image permission: Derek Black)