GB name 28-man squad for World Championship training squad

With just a few weeks to go before the IIHF World Championship (Division 1B) in Lithuania, Great Britain head coach Doug Christiansen has reduced his initial long-list squad down to 28 players.

These players will take part in the first week of the national team’s training camp and the two home internationals against Netherlands.

The two matches against Netherlands will take place at Ice Sheffield on Saturday 12th April (7:30pm) and at the Skydome in Coventry a day later (5:15pm).

Following the Netherlands fixtures, the squad will be reduced further to the 23 players who will travel to Lithuania for the World Championship.

GB will then play Croatia, Netherlands, Lithuania, Poland and Romania in the six-team IIHF tournament in Vilnius.

Christiansen said: “In speaking with the coaching staff, we have narrowed our list of players to 28.

“All of the selected players will be attending the training camp in Coventry in April.

“At that camp, we will have the opportunity to see players side by side competing for spots. There are a number of places that are up for grabs.

“All 28 players will play in at least one of the two Netherlands games.

“I know last season the training camp in Manchester helped determine a number of player selections.

“My goal is to get the players who are playing the best and will be most committed to the team.

“I am hopeful that a couple younger players will emerge and learn from the veteran leaders that have been so successful over the years.”

Ben Bowns – Hull Stingrays
Stephen Murphy – Belfast Giants
Mike Will – Braehead Clan

James Griffin – Coventry Blaze
Steve Lee – Nottingham Panthers
Sam McCluskey – Dundee Stars
Danny Meyers – Sheffield Steelers
Ben O’Connor – Arlan Kokshetau
David Phillips – Belfast Giants
Kevin Phillips – Belfast Giants
Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils
Paul Swindlehurst – Dundee Stars
Jonathan Weaver – Nottingham Panthers

David Clarke – Nottingham Panthers
Ben Davies – Cardiff Devils
Matty Davies – Hull Stingrays
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers
Mark Garside – Belfast Giants
Jason Hewitt – Sheffield Steelers
Phil Hill – Sheffield Steelers
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Matthew Myers – Cardiff Devils
Craig Peacock – Belfast Giants
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Colin Shields – Belfast Giants
Ashley Tait – Coventry Blaze
Matt Towe – Braehead Clan