Koulikov names strong GB U20 squad for World Championship tournament

Great Britain U20 head coach Slava Koulikov has named his squad for next month’s World Championship tournament in Dumfries.

The six-team IIHF Division 2A competition runs from Sunday 10th to Saturday 16th December at the Dumfries Ice Bowl.

GB will come up against Estonia, Japan, Korea, Netherlands and Romania as they look to secure promotion back to Division 1 of the World Championship structure.

Koulikov said: “The coaching staff had to make some tough decisions to name this squad. It proves that we have great depth and some great prospects in the GB programme.

“I am very happy with my squad but some quality players have not made the final roster. I think we have a well-balanced squad and competition for places was really fierce.

“We will now undergo our final preparations for next month’s tournament. Everyone is looking forward to the World Championship and it will be even more special with it being on home ice.”

GB begin the tournament on Sunday 10th December against Romania, before facing Estonia the following day.

Netherlands are next up on the Wednesday, with the game against Korea scheduled for Thursday 14th.

GB round off the competition by facing Japan on Saturday 16th December. All GB games face-off at 8.00pm.

Tickets for the tournament are now on sale and range from just £5 for a single match ticket to £25 for the full week championship pass.

There are generous discounts available for groups and up to two under-16s go free with every ticket-purchasing adult.

Tickets are available now from the Midsteeple Box Office and Ice Bowl, or click here to book online.

GB U20 Squad


Jordan Lawday – Cardiff Fire
Ethan James – Essa Stallions, Canada


Lewis Baldwin – Blackburn Hawks
Bradley Jenion – South Shore Kings, USA
Stuart Kerr – Solway Sharks
Ed Knaggs – MK Lightning/Peterborough
Oliver Stone – Swindon Wildcats/Coventry Blaze
Tom Stubley – Hull Pirates
Josh Tetlow – Bracknell Bees/Nottingham Panthers


Kieran Brown – Sheffield Steelers/Blackburn Hawks
Jordan Buesa – Solway Sharks/Braehead Clan
Sam Duggan – Orebro, Sweden
Ben Edmonds – Dundee Stars
Craig Garrigan – Skyland Kings, USA
Harry Gulliver – Ogden Mustangs, USA
Mac Howlett – Saipa, Finland
Jordan Kelsall – Swindon Wildcats/Nottingham Panthers
Liam Kirk – Sheffield Steelers
Morgan Clarke-Pizzo – OHA, Canada
Cole Shudra – Sheffield Steelers
Chad Smith – Fife Flyers
Josh Waller – Pisek, Czech Republic

Long List Reserves

Daniel Abercrombie – Solway Sharks
Brandon Ayliffe – London Raiders
Josh Crane – MK Thunder
Adam Finlinson – Whitley Bay
Rio Grinell-Parke – MK Thunder
Scott Henderson – Solway Sharks
Kris Inglis – Dundee Stars
Kyle Johnston – Solway Sharks
Aaron Lyon – Hull Pirates
Tom Relf – Sheffield Steeldogs
Ashley Smith – Hull Pirates
Josh Smith – Basingstoke
Jordan Stokes – Telford/Coventry Blaze

(Image permission: Duncan Speirs)