Schedule confirmed for GB Women World Championship tournament in Scotland

The schedule for the 2019 Women’s World Championship (Division 2A) tournament in Scotland has been confirmed.

Great Britain will play host to Australia, DPR Korea, Mexico, Slovenia and Spain from 2nd to 8th April at Dumfries Ice Bowl.

This is the second time in five years that Ice Hockey UK have hosted a Division 2 tournament after Dumfries was the venue for the 2015 competition.

GB will start the six-team group on 2nd April against Australia, before facing Slovenia two days later.

Mexico are GB’s opponents on 5th April and they will go head-to-head with Spain on 7th April.

Cheryl Smith’s side will round off their fixtures against DPR Korea the following day.

Ice Hockey UK general secretary, Andy French, said: “The fixtures were ratified at this month’s IIHF Semi-Annual Congress and have been approved by all the teams.

“It is great to be holding another World Championship in Dumfries and everyone is looking forward to next year.

“IHUK have a great working relationship with Dumfries Council and the Dumfries Ice Bowl – and we are excited to be holding another top-class sporting event in the town.”


Tuesday, 2nd April

Spain v Slovenia (1.00pm)
DPR Korea v Mexico (4.30)
Australia v Great Britain (8.00pm)

Thursday, 4th April

DPR Korea v Australia (1.00pm)
Mexico v Spain (4.30pm)
Great Britain v Slovenia (8.00pm)

Friday, 5th April

DPR Korea v Spain (1.00pm)
Australia v Slovenia (4.30pm)
Great Britain v Mexico (8.00pm)

Sunday, 7th April

Mexico v Australia (1.00pm)
Slovenia v DPR Korea (4.30pm)
Spain v Great Britain (8.00pm)

Monday, 8th April

Slovenia v Mexico (1.00pm)
Australia v Spain (4.30pm)
Great Britain v DPR Korea (8.00pm)

(Image permission: Karl Denham)