Scottish National League line-up confirmed for season 2018/19

The Scottish National League (SNL) line-up for the 2018/19 season has been confirmed following Sunday’s annual general meeting in Edinburgh.

Aberdeen Lynx, Dundee Comets, Dundee Tigers, Kilmarnock Thunder, Kirkcaldy Kestrels, Murrayfield Racers, North Ayrshire Wild, Paisley Pirates and Solway Stingrays will face each other once home and away for a 16-game regular season.

Kilmarnock Storm and Moray Typhoons have withdrawn from the league, while Edinburgh Capitals SNL have not communicated their intentions to Scottish Ice Hockey for the upcoming campaign.

The top eight in the league will qualify for the play-offs which will start with two-legged quarter-finals to determine who qualifies for the SNL Final Four Weekend 2019.

The two play-off semi-finals will be held at Dundee Ice Arena on Saturday, 30th March, with the final scheduled for the following day.

This season’s Scottish Cup competition will be the same format once again, with the preliminary round, quarter-finals and semi-finals all two-legged ties.

The final will be staged alongside the various junior finals at Dundee Ice Arena on Saturday, 11th May.

There will also be a second cup competition for the 2018/19 campaign, featuring two groups containing four and five teams split into east and west sections.

Each side will play each other once home and away, with the top team in each group qualifying for the final. This will be played over two legs.

Fixtures for the league and cup competitions will be confirmed in due course.

(Image permission: Al Goold Photo)