Scotland U19 name strong squad for Conference curtain-raiser against England

Scotland has confirmed its squad for the upcoming U19 international against England at iceSheffield (face-off 8.00pm).

The traditional curtain-raiser to the annual Conference tournament will once again see the two sides go head-to-head for the prestigious Frank Dempster Memorial Trophy.

Scotland are bidding to claim the trophy for the second successive year having recorded a thrilling 5-4 overtime victory in 2018.

England had narrowly won the two previous meetings, but Liam Stenton’s overtime goal sparked wild celebrations in the Scotland camp.

Stenton has retained his place on a roster full of talent and Scotland head coach Steven Lynch says he is excited to see how they perform in this year’s big game.

“It’s only the second time we go into the game as holders of the Frank Dempster Memorial Trophy after winning in overtime last year and I believe that this year’s team is stronger than last,” he said.

“Both Scott Plews and I have been involved with this team for a few years now – my sixth and his fourth – so we know what to expect and how we need to prepare for the game.

“Along with the knowledge that Richard Hartmann brings, we’ll have a good training camp and will be ready on May 3rd in Sheffield.

“We’re confident we can bring the trophy home again, but we’re not under any illusion that England will have a strong team and we know that if this year’s game is anything like the previous few it’s going to be a great battle.”

Scotland will warm-up for the game with a fixture against Murrayfield Racers at Murrayfield Ice Rink on Sunday, 28th April (face-off 5.30pm).


Euan Simpson (Kirkcaldy), Dale Shearer (Dundee Tigers), Liam Danskin (Kirkcaldy), Reece Cochrane (Fife Flyers), Ethan Reid (Murrayfield), Ben Coughtrie (Solway), Josh Hodgkinson (New Ulm Steel), Lee Murison (Kirkcaldy), Drew Rumgay (Dundee), Charlie Scott (Dundee), Jordan Buesa (Fife Flyers), Caly Robertson (Fife Flyers), Lewis Houston (Solway), Liam Stenton (Solway), Garry Simpson (Kirkcaldy), Scott Jamieson (Kirkcaldy), George Pitcaithly (Kirkcaldy), Ruari Lockerbie (Solway), James Spence (OHA), Keiran Hair (Solway), Euan Anderson (Kilmarnock), Jake Grubb (Kirkcaldy).

(Image permission: MyTeamPhoto)