SNL round-up: Tigers’ award winners return, Kestrels sign pair of forwards

Dundee Tigers have confirmed that Callum Turnbull and Ben MacFarlane have agreed another season with the club.

The pair were voted the Tigers’ joint Player of the Year award winners in 2018/19 and both are eager to help the team climb the table next term.

Turnbull said: “It’s good to be back with the Tigers and I’m looking forward to getting going this year.

“After a difficult start last year we finished with a strong core of boys and we’re really strengthening ahead of the new season.

“Hopefully those new additions give us the boost we need and we can compete for honours this season.”

MacFarlane added: “We really grew as a team last year. The guys in the room stuck things out through a difficult period and that made us stronger as a group and we finished things with some positive performances.

“We’ve got a couple of new guys with fresh legs coming in that should take our play up a level and everyone has bought in to what the coaching team are trying to do.”

Kirkcaldy Kestrels have boosted their forward ranks for the upcoming campaign after confirming two more returnees to their roster.

Ryan Todd and George Pitcaithly are both products of the club’s junior system and have already gained significant experience at senior level.

They helped the Kestrels finish third in the Scottish National League (SNL) last term and reach the semi-finals in the play-offs and Scottish Cup.

The pair have also enjoyed success at U20 level with Fife Falcons and will be keen to make their mark in the SNL next season.

League new-boys Solway Sharks have confirmed that Martin Grubb has agreed his 12th season as the club’s head coach, while captain Struan Tonnar returns for another year with the Dumfries-based outfit.

Scott Marr and Bill Hogg have agreed a further season with Dundee Comets, while Dean Walker is back for a second year with Murrayfield Racers.

(Image permission: Derek Black)