Comets and Racers to face NIHL teams in revamped cup competition

Dundee Comets and Murrayfield Racers will both play in a revamped NIHL North Cup next season.

The two Scottish National League (SNL) clubs have joined up with Solway Sharks, Whitley Warriors and Billingham Stars to form a five-team round-robin competition next term.

Murrayfield played in the cup alongside six other sides last season, recording a 4-1 victory over eventual winners Sheffield Steeldogs during the group stage.

The Racers enjoyed plenty of success in 2018/19, winning the league title and Stuart Robertson Cup.

Dundee are making their debut in the competition, but they will be eager to test themselves against the NIHL clubs.

The Comets ended last season on a high note, securing a 6-5 overtime victory over the Racers to claim the Scottish Cup.

The number of cup fixtures in the NIHL North Cup are still to be confirmed by the teams involved, but there will be a knockout stage to decide the winners.

(Image permission: Derek Black)