Scottish Ice Hockey well represented in latest Great Britain U18 squad

Great Britain U18 head coach Sean Easton has named his squad for this year’s World Championship Division 2A tournament in Tallinn.

Five Scottish Ice Hockey junior players are included in the squad – Kell Beattie, Ben Brown, Cameron Hamill, Carter Hamill and Mack Stewart.

GB face Estonia, Korea, Lithuania, Romania and Serbia, from 3-9th April at the Tondiraba Ice Hall.

This will be the first international action for GB U18s since the 2019 tournament in Hungary, with the last two editions cancelled due to the pandemic.

Easton said: “We can’t wait to get going. I’ve been head coach for two years now and we haven’t played a game in that time.

“It’s a great group of guys we’ve got this year. The team looks strong and we’ve had to cut good players to get to our final selection. This group will be very hard-working.

“We’ve got a great mixture of skill, hunger and speed. There will be a lot of determination. I think we have a rounded team and all four lines are very well-balanced.

“All my teams, we skate hard and I like them to be relentless.”

Five of the roster – Sam Cooper, Oliver Endicott, Jack Hopkins, Cain Russell and Liam Steele – played at the recent U20 World Championship Division 2A tournament in Brasov.

GB returned with the bronze medal and Easton believes these players can be crucial for the rest of the squad who have not had World Championship experience.

“They can guide the players through the dos and don’ts, the tournament rules and how you conduct yourself,” added Easton.

“They have the experience of the little things you probably don’t get to experience at club level. They can be a calming head because they have been there already.”


NM: Ben Norton, Alex Oldale.

D: Kell Beattie, Daniel Bradley, Kieran Chung, Samuel Cooper, Archie Hazeldine, Milique Martelly, Liam Steele, Jacob White-Sey,

F: Ben Brown, Harry Corkum, Oliver Endicott, Cameron Hamill, Carter Hamill, Jack Hopkins, Sam Lyne, Austin Osborn, Dawson Osborn, Cain Russell, Josh Shaw, Mack Stewart.