SNL round-up: Lynx roar back into life, Tigers edge past the Kestrels

It has been a busy couple of weeks in the Scottish National League (SNL), with several clubs stepping up their activity with the new season on the horizon.

Aberdeen Lynx player/coach Jordan Leyden has added six players to his roster for the upcoming campaign including two new faces.

Ben Edmonds and Dale Shearer previously iced for Dundee Comets but will be part of the Lynx squad this term.

The north east outfit have also confirmed that Jack Durkacz, Mark Laing, Mark Simanovskiy and Callum Smith are returning for another year.

Murrayfield Racers have announced six signings in the past fortnight – Ross Borwick, Alex Christian, Aiden Paterson, Jack Wright, Lewis Gold and Archie Holmes.

Dundee Tigers were the surprise package in the 2019/20 SNL season, claiming third place in the table behind Solway Sharks and the Racers.

They announced their entire roster in the run-up to their pre-season fixture at Kirkcaldy Kestrels and it contained plenty of players from their most recent squad.

Grant Reekie continues as player/coach, while Paul Guilcher, Ross Johnston, Stuart Barnett, Ben McFarlane, Sean Dyer and Craig Findlay are other notable returnees.

The Tigers have also snapped up John Gordon from the Comets, while Aaron Thompson has joined the club after six seasons with Aberdeen.

The Dundee-based team kicked off their preparations for the new season in style with a 3-2 victory at Kirkcaldy – Callum Hill, Robbie Hill and Ross McIntosh got their goals.

(Image permission: Ferguson Photography)